About Elite      Contact us         English  Russian  Slovenščina

General information

General Information on Slovenia

Facts & figures

Official language: Slovenian and, in ethnically mixed areas, Hungarian and Italian.

Currency:  euro (EUR)

Capital City: Ljubljana.

Location: Slovenia is a central European country bordering Austria, Italy, Hungary and Croatia.

Regions: Slovenia has eight geographically complex regions that are also historically founded and generally established: Primorska, Notranjska, Gorenjska, Dolenjska, Bela krajina, Koroška, Štajerska and Prekmurje.

Number of inhabitants: 2,032,362 (31/12/2008).

Language: The official language in Slovenia is Slovenian, the mother tongue of approximately 2.4 million people.

Highest peak: Triglav, 2,864m.

Climate: There are three climatic influences that meet in the country: a harsh Alpine climate prevails in the mountains, the coast has a sub-Mediterranean climate, and the north-east lowlands have a continental climate. The average temperature is above 20°C in July, and around 0°C in January.

Religion: The majority of the population is Roman Catholic. There are also more than thirty other religious communities in Slovenia that have officially registered their activities.


Slovenia is a young country by global standards, having been independent since 1991. The ancestors of the Slovenes were Slavs who migrated from the Carpathians to the present-day territory in the 6th century, before a hundred years later founding the oldest known Slavic state, Carantania, although this did not last long.

Until the 20th century Slovenia was under foreign rule, mostly by the Habsburg monarchy of Austro-Hungary. During this time the Slovenes emerged as a nation and forged their own identity, despite oppression and sustained pressure to assimilate. Slovenia became part of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia after the First World War, then part of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia after the Second World War. After more than 70 years of living in Yugoslavia, the Slovenes built a consensus to strike out an independent path, almost 90% of the population voting for independence in the 1990 referendum. Slovenia joined the EU in 2004, and also became a member of Nato.

Important historical milestones

  • Slovenian ancestors first settled in this area in the 6th century;
  • 7th century: duchy of Carantania, the first Slovenian state;
  • 9th century: Freising Documents, the oldest records in the Slovenian language;
  • 14th  century to 1918: Slovenian regions become a part of the Habsburg Monarchy, later the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy;
  • middle 15th century: a short period of the principality of Celje, which was the last political formation with its centre in the Slovenian territory;
  • The Reformation period sets the foundation for the Slovene literary language. In 1550, the first Slovenian book is printed (by Primož Trubar). In 1584, the Bible is translated into Slovenian (by Jurij Dalmatin).
  • 1809–13: the Illyrian Provinces (half of Slovenia was part of the French Empire), Slovenian national consciousness strengthens;
  • 1848: demand for unification of all Slovenians into one kingdom within the Austrian Empire – United Slovenia Programme;
  • 1918: end of World War One. After unsuccessful efforts to divide the Habsburg Monarchy into Austria, Hungary and the South Slavic area and the downfall of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy, the Slovenian ethnical territory breaks into 4 countries. In the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenians (the Kingdom of Yugoslavia), the Slovenian territory is first divided into two administrative units (under the authority of Ljubljana and Maribor) and then united into the Drava Banovina (Drava Province);
  • 1919: the union of Prekmurje with the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenians;
  • 29 November 1945: Slovenians get their own Republic within the framework of the Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia;
  • 15 September 1947: reunification of the greater part of Primorska with Slovenia on the basis of the Paris Peace Treaty;
  • April 1990: first democratic elections;
  • December 1990: plebiscite for a sovereign and independent country (88.5% of registered voters voted in favour);
  • 25 June 1991: Slovenia declares independence;
  • 23 December 1991: adoption of the new Slovenian Constitution;
  • 15 January 1992: the European Union officially recognises Slovenia;
  • 22 May 1992: Slovenia becomes a permanent member of the UN;
  • 1 February 1999: the association agreement with the EU comes into force;
  • 29 March 2004: Slovenia becomes a member of NATO;
  • 1 May 2004: Slovenia becomes a member of the EU;
  • 1 January 2007: Slovenia introduces the euro.


Getting to Slovenia

Slovenia has three international airports: Ljubljana, Maribor in Portorož /Portorose. Most international air traffic is concentrated at Ljubljana Airport. 

Ljubljana Airport
Ljubljana's airport, Brnik, lies 20 kilometres north of Ljubljana. Open from 6am to 10pm, it also offers passengers a bank, currency exchange service, post office, tourist agency, restaurants, duty-free stores, auto rental, taxi service and a large parking lot.

Ljubljana Airport
Zg. Brnik 130a, 4210 Brnik
phone no.: ++386 4 206 19 81
fax: ++386 4 202 12 20
e-mail: info@lju-airport.si

Maribor Airport
Maribor Airport is a smaller international airport. Open from 6am to 9.30pm, the airport building offers passengers a restaurant and duty-free shop.

Maribor Airport
Letališka cesta 10, 2312 Orehova vas
Phone no.: ++386 2 629 11 75
Fax: ++386 2 629 12 53
e-mail: info@maribor-airport.si

Portorož/Portorose Airport
During the summer, the Portorož airport is open from 8am from 8pm, while during the winter it is open from Monday to Friday from 8am to 4pm and on Saturdays/Sundays from 9am to 6pm. The small international airport has a duty-free shop, restaurant, auto rental and taxi service.

Portorož Airport 
Sečovlje 19, 6333 Sečovlje
phone no.: ++386 5 672 25 25
fax: ++386 5 672 25 30
e-mail: info@portoroz-airport.si

Connect with us

hits counter